Skip to Main Content

League elects new officers and directors 

by: Najuma Thorpe, NCLM Director of Communications and Member Relations

At CityVision 2014, League members elected new League officers and board of directors members. Burlington Mayor Ronnie Wall was elected president and accepted the gavel from 2013-2014 President Mayor Al King of Goldsboro. Before taking office as president, Wall served terms as first vice president and second vice president.

Elkin Mayor Lestine Hutchens was elected to the first vice president seat after serving as second vice president, and Zebulon Mayor Robert Matheny, who served on the board as District 6 Representative, was elected as the new second vice president.  Mayor King became the immediate past president.


  New members of the League’s Board of Directors are sworn in at CityVision 2014. Pictured from left to right are; Cary Council Member Jennifer Robinson, Albemarle Council Member Martha Sue Hall, Morrisville Mayor Pro Tem Elizabeth (Liz) Johnson, Charlotte Council Member Patsy Kinsey, Washington Council Member William Pitt, Whiteville Mayor Terry Mann, Hope Mills Clerk Melissa Adams, Weaverville Council Member Walter Currie, and Lincolnton Manager Jeff Emory.

The new members to the board are Edenton Mayor Roland Vaughan (District 1 Representative), Jacksonville Mayor Pro Tem Michael Lazzara (District 2 Representative), Morrisville Mayor Pro Tem Elizabeth (Liz) Johnson (District 6 Representative), Albemarle Council Member Martha Sue Hall (At Large Representative/Elected Officials), Whiteville Mayor Terry Mann (At Large Representative/Elected Officials), Lincolnton Manager Jeff Emory (At Large Representative/Managers) and Hope Mills Clerk Melissa Adams.

In addition, the following directors were re-elected to a second term: Clayton Mayor Jody McLeod (District 4), Charlotte Council Member Patsy Kinsey (District 8), Pilot Mountain Commissioner Gary Bell (District 10), Weaverville Council Member Walter Currie (District 12), Cary Council Member Jennifer Robinson (At Large/Elected Officials), Matthews Manager Hazen Blodgett (At Large/Managers) and Apex Human Resources Director Eleanor Green (At Large/Affiliate).

Directors are elected for two-year terms and eligible to serve two terms. Officers’ terms are one year, and officers move from second vice president to first vice president and then to president, subject to annual election.

Click here for a full list of the board members.