Skip to Main Content

 Nominating Committee to recommend slate of League officers and directors 

League President and Emerald Isle Mayor Art Schools appointed the League’s 2013 Nominating Committee, which will recommend a slate of officers and directors for the membership’s consideration. Election of 2013-2014 officers and members of the League Board of Directors will take place at the annual business meeting held at 9:00 a.m. Tuesday, October 15, at the League's Annual Conference in Hickory.

Newport Mayor Derryl Garner, League past president, will serve as chair of the committee.

The League’s Nominating Committee is now accepting nominations for vacancies on the 2013-2014 Board of Directors, including the office of second vice president.

The committee will hold a hearing to receive nominations at 2:00 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 13, in the Hickory Metro Convention Center during the annual conference.

Directors are elected for two-year terms and eligible to serve two terms. Officers’ terms are one year, and officers move from second vice president to first vice president and then to president, subject to annual election.

The Board of Directors usually meets four or five times each year to oversee League activities, consider legislative goals and adopt the League budget.

In addition to the office of second vice president, the following seats on the board are up for election. In some districts, the incumbent director is eligible for another term.

District 1: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Martin, Gates, Hertford, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrell and Washington counties.
District 3: Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, New Hanover, Pender and Sampson counties.
District 5: Edgecombe, Franklin, Halifax, Nash, Northampton and Warren counties.
District 7: Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Lee, Moore, Robeson and Scotland counties.
District 9: Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan and Stokes counties.
District 11: Burke, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, McDowell and Rutherford counties.

Two at-large seats for elected officials are open, as well as one managers’ seats. Three additional seats are designated to be filled by representatives of affiliate organizations of the League.

Nominating Committee Members

Chair: Mayor Derryl Garner, Newport, NCLM past president
Council Member Avant P. Coleman, Wilson, NCLM past president
Mayor Mel Cohen, Morganton, NCLM past president
Mayor Rebecca Smothers, High Point, NCLM past president
Council Member A. Everette Clark, Marion, NCLM past president
Mayor Gerald A. Jones Jr., Morehead City, NCLM past president
Council Member Rodney W. Locks, NCLM past president
Mayor Roland Vaughan, Edenton
Mayor Pro Tem Deborah Ahlers, Caswell Beach
Council Member Carol Ruffin, Tarboro
Mayor Nancy Fiorillo, Pinehurst
Mayor David Smith, Asheboro
Mayor John Bridgeman, Gastonia