Skip to Main Content

The Election is in the Books; Contact Your Legislators

November 05, 2014

With the unofficial results in, the outcomes of most of the 2014 races for public office in North Carolina are now known. Now is the time to contact legislators, congratulate them, and seek time to make your concerns known to them. The unofficial results for all of the races can be found here, at the N.C. State Board of Elections website. A brief recap of many of the races follows.
U.S. Senate
Current State House Speaker Thom Tillis, a Republican, defeated incumbent Democratic U.S. Sen. Kay Hagan by roughly 1.5 percentage points, helping give the GOP a majority in both chambers of Congress. Hagan had led in most polls leading up to Election Day, and many national pundits expected Hagan to keep the seat. Democrats' get-out-the-vote effort may not have been as successful as they had thought, particularly outside of a few urban counties. Read more about the U.S. Senate contest here.
U.S. House of Representatives
North Carolina's U.S. House delegation will be split 10-3 after former Republican state Sen. David Rouzer picked up the 7th District seat that Democrat Mike McIntyre has held since 1997. The only other change among the state's delegation took place in the 6th District, where Republican Mark Walker will replace 30-year congressional veteran Howard Coble, who is retiring.
North Carolina General Assembly
Republicans will hold onto veto-proof majorities in the state House and Senate, despite losing three net seats in the House. Unofficial results show the GOP with a 34-16 advantage in the Senate, should the vote totals in a tight race in Wake County's District 15 hold. In the House, Republicans would appear to have a 74-46 seat advantage entering the 2015-16 legislative session.
Senate Republicans appeared to pick up one seat with the defeat of Democratic Sen. Gene McLaurin, the former Rockingham Mayor, in District 25. In the tight race in District 15, Republican John Alexander led Democrat and former Raleigh Mayor Tom Bradshaw by 717 votes, a margin that could lead to a runoff.
In the House, four incumbent Republicans lost. They were Reps. Tim Moffitt in District 116, Tom Murry in District 41, Nathan Ramsey in District 115, and Mike Stone in District 51. Republicans picked up the District 2 seat that had been held by a veteran Democrat, Winkie Wilkins, who is retiring. In that race, former County Commissioner Larry Yarborough, a Republican, defeated current County Commissioner Ray Jeffers, a Democrat.
The League would like to congratulate three current or former municipal officials who were elected to the General Assembly yesterday: former Yadkinville Mayor Lee Zachary, Cary Mayor Pro-Tem Gale Adcock, and Cornelius Town Councilman John Bradford III. See more on the General Assembly races here and here.
Local Races
Congratulations also to the winners in the municipal elections held in High Point, Archdale, Dobson and Pilot Mountain. Those results included the election of Bill Bencini as High Point Mayor in the lone contested mayoral races on Tuesday. See results from those races here and here.              

Posted on November 05, 2014 by Scott Mooneyham